Bona Fide OS Developer
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Jun 19, 2018 10:44 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Processor Problem. 
Author Message

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:50 am
Posts: 11
Post Processor Problem.
Ok ive been following the brokenthorn tutorials but when im about to load the kernel VirtualPC displays a popup "unrecoverable processor problem has been found the virtual machine will now reset.

ive tried nearly everything that a medium level kernel programmer can do but it still wont work.


Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:00 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 7:44 am
Posts: 274
Location: United Kingdom
Post Re: Processor Problem.
Hmmm, have you tried a different VM, say;Sun xVm, Bochs, Qemu, VMWare...

Hopefully its just a problem with VirtualPC.

_________________
Thank you for reading,

Kieran C G Foot


Tue Mar 30, 2010 3:42 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:32 am
Posts: 26
Post Re: Processor Problem.
maybe this might help:
http://www.moorlandit.net/index.php/200 ... pc-2007-37


Tue Mar 30, 2010 7:16 am
Profile

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:50 am
Posts: 11
Post Re: Processor Problem.
Kieran wrote:
Hmmm, have you tried a different VM, say;Sun xVm, Bochs, Qemu, VMWare...

Hopefully its just a problem with VirtualPC.


i dont use grub i use Mercury loader v 1.0


Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:38 am
Profile

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:50 am
Posts: 11
Post Re: Processor Problem.
Kieran wrote:
Hmmm, have you tried a different VM, say;Sun xVm, Bochs, Qemu, VMWare...

Hopefully its just a problem with VirtualPC.


i dont use grub i use Mercury loader v 1.0

and yes i have used diffrent types
VMware goes in to guru meditation

MSVPC processor error

BOCHS reboots but i havent tried sun xVm


Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:40 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 38
Location: United Kingdom
Post Re: Processor Problem.
The latest version of MS VirtualPC I've had no end of problems using, I believe it actually only supports Windows OS's now, not sure how it detects those.

I've been using VMWare ESXi on a Server and having a Virtual Machine in that to test my code, bit of overkill, but it works.

_________________
Andy Esser
neogenix Broadcast


Tue Mar 30, 2010 6:48 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin and tweaked by the BF Team.