Bona Fide OS Developer
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:54 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Help me with VGA modes for my kernel 
Author Message

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:04 pm
Posts: 3
Post Help me with VGA modes for my kernel
:oops: Hello folks ...
first I speak little english , i hope you can understand me

well, here is my problem... I wrote a kernel with help of BRAN's KERNEL TUTORIAL , but i wolud like change the mode of the VGA ...

I want to show windows and another things ,
I don't want to work with the 80*25 VGA mode...

i am using GRUB for the booting proccess , please can someone help me with a little example or give me a tutorial about this ..?

thank you


Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:03 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:51 pm
Posts: 66
Post Re: Help me with VGA modes for my kernel
Does Grub switch out of real mode for you?

I just call the BIOS when it's still in 16-bit mode before I change to 32-bit and 64-bit.

http://lrs.uni-passau.de/support/doc/interrupt-57/INT-10.HTM
http://lrs.uni-passau.de/support/doc/interrupt-57/RB-0259.HTM

I guess you have choice -- if Grub changes to 32-bit, you can't use the BIOS and must manually change the VGA registers.
If grub starts it in 16-bit mode, you can call the BIOS, but must manually switch to 32 or 64-bit modes.

I use my own boot loader which runs my kernel in 16-bit mode. My kernel calls the BIOS and changes to 64-bit.

http://www.losethos.com/code/OSStartUp.html


Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:16 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:04 pm
Posts: 3
Post Re: Help me with VGA modes for my kernel
ok thanks ', but i am a new in OS

but I am a good programmer, i have created my own programming lenguage
I have knowledge of assembler , but a don't knowa alot of 16,32,64 bits
and what are you try to say me

but , thank you .


Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:34 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:51 pm
Posts: 66
Post Re: Help me with VGA modes for my kernel
me say you pow-wow in tee-pee.

real=16-bit
protected=32-bit
long=64-bit

you prefer the Intel terms? You're nuts.

EMT64=IA32e=AMD64=64-bit

Intel like to fuck-up terminology to confuse people.

you have a lame Indian accent

64-bit mode has 16 registers instead of 8 and they are 64-bits wide instead of 32. Lemme guess... you're an osdever trying to sell us on sour grapes claiming no need for 64-bit mode.


Thu Apr 01, 2010 12:08 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:04 pm
Posts: 3
Post Re: Help me with VGA modes for my kernel
jajja .... ok ,,,
I know , what are you try to say me?
....
i learnt that ... 2 weeks ago .

only ,, I am searching a tutorial or example..

if you can help me ... fine ..
else
Thank you very much !! awevado no te creas chevere


Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:52 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin and tweaked by the BF Team.