Bona Fide OS Developer
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:54 am

What's the best attainable level with BonaFide's content? 

Post What's the best attainable level with BonaFide's content?
Hi!

It's a really good thing to see OS development sites like this not give up for years past and to come.

I have a question I feel is extremely important. In short: What is the most I can expect being able to do after studying and compiling and experimenting with every single bit of tutorial and sample code information contained in BonaFide website sections?

I have tried to learn about operating system development since around November 2004. I started learning assembly language in a DOS/Win9x environment, which took me 6 months to get a basic working level and to understand the basics of protected mode such as the GDT; and bought an AMD Ahlon 64 3000+.

I previously had 3 years of knowing how to program basic things (Visual Basic, a little bit of C, and yet less about assembly; also HTML).

All of the time in between was used to make countless failed kernel attempts, but I learned and used basic information found here and in the Google cache, and a little bit in MegaTokyo, and other interesting miscellaneous pages.

Up to now these are the things I have been able to achieve:

• Create a typical floppy "Hello World!" kernel

• I can read/write memory and I/O ports of 8, 16, 32 and 64 bits, shift and rotate bits and that kind of things in NASM assembly

• I can reprogram the PIC, the PIT, read the CMOS, set up a basic protected mode GDT and IDT, enable A20 the "easy" way, and do a basic scan of the PCI

• Make a kernel to copy the contents of a hard disk to another identical one using PIO and 28-bit LBA

• Modify and cleanup the bootf boot sector to boot a real mode image

• I was able to install the bootr master boot record into a 2GB USB FAT16 memory stick and booted as if it was a hard disk plugged in the USB